Portland Floating Home

Portland Floating Home

Project Date: November 2015
 
Client 1:
 
“Most amazing architects we have ever worked with. So talented and able to really hear, conceptualize, and draw what we described.”
 
Client 2:
 
“If you are looking for thoughtful, capable, creative, responsive architects, Peter Brachvogel and Stella Carosso, BC&J Architecture, are the dream team. They enabled us to realize our vision of a perfect home, and they are great fun to work with!”
 
View project details and photos.

Portland Floating Home
Point Monroe Main House, Boathouse and Carriage House

Point Monroe Main House

Point Monroe Boathouse and Carriage House

Project Date: October 2015
 
Client 1:
 
“Brilliant, collaborative and wonderful to work with. That is how I would describe our experience with BC&J. My husband and I have worked with Peter Brachvogel and Stella Carosso on 3 projects over the past 8 years. Each one has had it’s challenges and BC&J has rose to the occasion to create and produce amazing buildings. Working with talent can be challenging but we have found it to work towards our best interest with fabulous results. Peter has allowed us to work collaboratively with his team and be as involved as much as we want. He is always available throughout the entire project to discuss details and answer all questions. We truly value his opinions and even though we may have our own ideas we always ask why and how he got to his decisions. 99.9% of the time we see and understand the value of his thinking and how he got there. The great thing is that if we really do feel strongly about something that wouldn’t be his choice he does respect the fact that we are the owners and will be living in the house. Peter and Stella are such forward thinkers, innovators and creative geniuses. I highly, highly recommend using BC&J if you want a home that is beautifully unique and an experience you will truly cherish.”
 
Client 2:
 
“The BC&J team is fantastic. We have now engaged them for three separate structures on our property, starting with our boathouse “repair”; then onto designing our carriagehouse; and, now, the main event, our main house. Each building has its own unique character while working well with the other buildings on our property and fitting in within our island community. Peter & Stella, the principals, are both a great fit in working with us, and, equally importantly, a great complement in working with each other.
 
The team brings a great creative focus while maintaining a keen eye on bringing in design details that helped us achieve the unique home we were looking to build. Creative use of beautiful woods, rolled steel and unusual but dazzling stone has created an interior and exterior envelope in which we live comfortably. Large, floor to ceiling windows provide an amazing view of Puget Sound and the amazing wildlife here.
 
The working relationship is more than we could have hoped for – open, candid, responsive and fun (yes, I said fun). We discuss concepts together in an engaged way – we have been challenged by them to think outside the box, and the results are awesome.
 
BC&J understands the complex and challenging permitting and zoning rules in our community and works together with owners in meeting code requirements. That is very helpful when building in a community with such complex requirements.
 
In short, we have been served well by BC&J in our multi-year relationship. That is why we engaged them for the three separate and distinct building projects. we have found ourselves in the enviable position of living in a warm, inviting, stunning home with amazing architectural touches and details. They are a great team; fun to work with and highly talented in bringing new and creative ideas to the forefront.”
 
View project details and photos of the Main House.
View project details and photos of the Carriage House and Boathouse.

Point Monroe Main House, Boathouse and Carriage House
Client - June 2015

Client – June 2015

Project Date: June 2015
 
“I have had the privileged opportunity to partner with BC&J on number of occasions for design consultation. Their approach is personalized to not only you as the client, but to each individual project. Their years of experience are coupled with professionalism and uncompromising quality. The owners are creative, consultative and work effortlessly to make your dreams come true.”

Client - June 2015
Whidbey Island Writer’s Retreat

Whidbey Island Writer’s Retreat

Project Date: June 2015
 
“BC and J has designed two houses for me over the span of twenty years. The houses are completely different in terms of style, location and purpose, but they both have worked beautifully for our family in our different stages. Peter and Stella both have a wonderful visual sense and have creative ideas, but know that the home is the owner’s and must fit the owner’s needs rather than be a showcase for the architect’s vision.”
 
Project details and photos coming soon!

Whidbey Island Writer’s Retreat
Remodel of Cape Cod style House

Remodel of Cape Cod style House

Project Date: September 2014
 
“We hired BC&J Architecture to remodel a home on Bainbridge, WA. Peter and Stella did an amazing job creating a home that is just perfect for us. Peter had an overall view with ideas I hadn’t even thought of and Stella was exceptional at fine tuning details. Stella is also very talented with colors and floor plans. They are very easy and a pleasure to work with. They did a great job working within our budget. They worked well with the builders and provided necessary plans on a timely manner. I would highly recommend this team of talented architects.”
 
Project details and photos coming soon!

Remodel of Cape Cod style House
Lee Ann Sleder - Colleague

Lee Ann Sleder – Colleague

Project Date: September 2014
 
“I have enjoyed watching BCandJ over the last couple of decades come up with architectural designs which are always relevant to the time, place and client yet always done in a fresh and inspired way. Peter and Stella and their team understand the big picture in terms of the context of a particular project and then infuse it with wonderful details that come from’out side the box’. Love them!”

Lee Ann Sleder - Colleague
Remodel of 1920s French Normandy Revival

Remodel of 1920s French Normandy Revival

Project Date: June 2014
 
“Extension of new wing on existing home with complete renovation of existing home. A project of approximately two years. The firm performed all architectural work, on site review, invoice review of contractor invoices. All work was turned around in a timely manner. The lead architect was always available for consultations, advice and general problem solving. I always appreciated the honest opinion presented in meetings and discussions.
 
Recommend the firm.”
 
Project details and photos coming soon!

Remodel of 1920s French Normandy Revival
South Beach House

South Beach House

Project Date: February 2014
 
“Peter and Stella possess all the skills you’d expect in quality architects, but the most important thing to us was finding someone who could listen and capture our vision. From the very first meeting, it was plain to us that we found the right architects. Every detail was well thought out, and the first drawings perfectly captured our ideal. The project took 2 years to complete and it is magnificent. We made some changes along the way and they always turned the new drawings very fast. They stepped in at key project points when we needed their help, and they stayed with the project through completion, always available to consult and offering support and good ideas. Their fees were exactly as they predicted, and their billing clear and understandable. We could not have had this house built without them — it reflects their work as much as our vision, and we would recommend them to anyone without hesitation.”
 
View project details and photos.

South Beach House
Remodeled Beach Front Rambler

Remodeled Beach Front Rambler

Project Date: February 2014
 
“We purchased a 1930’s era beach home that had been enlarged and remodeled several times over the years. It was chopped up into awkward rooms and wasted space and was a bit neglected. We knew we were in for an extensive remodel. Stella, Peter and their staff were attentive to our goals and budget and developed an extremely comfortable design that made the best use of every square foot of space. They moved the stairs to the second level to make them safe and more accessible and designed a wonderful master suite and kitchen. The signature element was to install a ridgetop skylight in the living room/dining room, bringing light into the room throughout the day, even in cloudy and rainy weather.
 
We love our new home, having lived here for one year. We highly recommend BC&J.”
 
Project details and photos coming soon!

Remodeled Beach Front Rambler
Forest Studio

Forest Studio

Project Date: January 2014
 
“We converted one of the Perfect Little House plans to a difficult site plan with challenging permitting issues. The project consisted of a 700 square foot Accessory Dwelling Unit in Bainbridge Island. Peter was helpful in the permitting process, retaining a structural engineer, and proposing creative solutions in small spaces. The program was modified to provide the ADU, studio, storage and boat storage on the lot which we are able to achieve in a very small area, while saving most of the existing green space. We rent our loft apartment on VBRO and have received nothing but 5 star reviews, and it is almost booked full time with minimal advertising. Stella was very efficient on finishes. If I had another project, I would use them again.”
 
Project details and photos coming soon!

Forest Studio
New Built-Ins and a Master Bath upgrade

New Built-Ins and a Master Bath upgrade

Project Date: November 2013
 
“Peter and Stella have done several projects for us. They are so talented. We love their work. It always exceeds our expectations. They are collaborative. I love their attention to detail.”

New Built-Ins and a Master Bath upgrade
Pleasant Beach Shop Building

Pleasant Beach Shop Building

Project Date: August 2013
 
“We hired BC&J to design a 2200 sqft workshop which would sit comfortably on a narrow lot and blend in with the other buildings on the site. Peter listened carefully to the design objectives for the outside of the building and since the interior was a bit out of their wheelhouse, a woodworking shop, the team took careful notes for my exact specifications. The project turned out beautifully and we were able to speed through a rather demanding permitting process. We would hire them again and recommend.”
 
Project details and photos coming soon!

Pleasant Beach Shop Building
South Puget Sound House

South Puget Sound House

Project Date: June 2013
 
“Our project entailed designing a custom waterfront home for summers entertaining and eventual retirement. We put out ten questionnaires to firms around the South Sound and then interviewed three. We chose Peter and Stella because their prior waterfront work was inspiring, professionalism during the screening process could best be described as a Five Star Hotel and collaboration between them hinted that we were going to get a rich experience base to draw from.
 
During the conceptual design process, it became very clear that we were in good hands. The exercise of us telling them what we wanted began a bit shaky, but they quickly figured out ways to extract the information. In just a few meetings, Peter and Stella had taken dozens of our fragmented ideas and Houzz photos and shaped them into a single conceptual design that we were very excited about. In fact, our finished beach house is not far off that original conceptual design.
 
I believe you will hear from most GC’s that architects spend lots of time designing homes from behind a desk and very little time actually understanding the hammer and nails side of the business. I can tell you that Peter has expertise in both – and his construction documents speak for themselves. I remember the GC’s very experienced framer saying to me “this is the most thorough set of plans he has every worked off.”
 
One of the most important parts of this project was to somehow incorporate our personalities into the design – this is where Stella shines. She has a keen talent of capturing flow and harmony into the physical design elements. Similar to an accomplished interior decorator, Stella distilled from our close relationship some subtle curves and cubbies to permanently emboss our personalities on the design.
 
The construction process was never as fast as you would like but we completed it in less than a year. Peter kept a very constructive and supportive relationship with the GC and was very responsive to the few issue that did come up.
 
We love our beach house and are thankful to BC&J and our GC for making it a personally rewarding experience.”
 
View project details and photos.

South Puget Sound House
Client - April 2013

Client – April 2013

Project Date: April 2013
 
“We engaged BC&J to create Conceptual Real Estate Office design and presentation to design review board. This project did not go forward as we determined it was not feasible due to City Hall restrictions.
 
BC&J were well informed very precise and creative in their design and demonstrated a good rapport with City Officials.
 
We would not hesitate to recommend BC&J for community planning and design and Architectural services.”

Client - April 2013
Quantum Windows & Doors - Colleague

Quantum Windows & Doors – Colleague

Project Date: November 2012
 
“BC&J is comprised of an extremely innovative team excelling in both contemporary and traditional design. We have had the pleasure of working with them for years and are constantly impressed how they work with light and space. Homeowners looking to place their trust in a highly talented and EASY to work with firm, will do well to turn to Peter and his firm.”

Quantum Windows & Doors - Colleague
Garage and Bedroom Addition

Garage and Bedroom Addition

Project Date: September 2009
 
“We needed to add a bedroom to our Ballard home and we knew it was not going to be an easy remodel. Our house sat very close to the property line and had been remodeled once before. We knew it was going to be difficult to make another addition and make it look right. We got some ideas from a couple of architects but Peter and Stella from BC&J gave us some sketches that really connected the main house to the detached garage. BC&J helped us through the contractor bid process and their staff was very responsive to any changes that we had to make during construction. Initially, we wanted to have a larger addition, but Peter convinced us that the house would not have good proportions and would be difficult to get approved through the building department. We are really glad that we listened to Peter and Stella’s advice. We love our house and we get complements on it all of the time. I would definitely hire BC&J again.”

Garage and Bedroom Addition